Upcoming events

22 November 2020 – 3pm

IN OUR NATURE

Nature is so often referred to as something apart from us, somewhere to be briefly visited and then return. Does our human nature mean that we are destined always to use, conquer and destroy? Or can we learn to coexist and thrive with our fellow creatures? This panel discussion comes on the back of the devastating bushfires of last summer. When arborist and author of The 99th KoalaKailas Wild heard that the injured koalas on Kangaroo Island could only be reached by a tree climber he drove 1,500km to volunteer. Animals Make Us Human, is the passion project of co-editors Leah Kaminsky and Meg Keneally. The pair enlisted more than 70 contributors, including author Claire G. Coleman and photographer David Maurice Smith to highlight the beauty and fragility of Australia’s unique fauna.

Panel discussion with Meg Keneally.

For every ticket to this live session, Godfrey Hirst will donate $5 towards the following charities: the Australian Marine Conservation Society, the Australian Wildlife Conservancy and the Humane Society International (Australia).

More details: http://www.wordforwordfestival.com.au/session/in-our-nature/

 

25 November 2020 – 12.30pm

THE WRECK – MEG KENEALLY IN CONVERSATION WITH LEAH KAMINSKY

Join Meg Keneally in conversation with Leah Kaminsky as she takes us through her latest novel, The Wreck.

Meg Keneally’s second solo novel is an exciting historical fiction adventure about power, sedition and survival. With a strong lead female protagonist, the novel’s themes of political resistance and rebellion are rich in history but deeply relevant for today’s world. This one is for fans of historical, adventure and women’s fiction, in the vein of Kate Forsyth, Kate Morton, and even Clive Cussler.

This will be a virtual event via Zoom.

Please register your attendance below to be sent the Zoom meeting details.

FREE – Everyone Welcome

More details: https://smsa.org.au/events/event/the-wreck-meg-keneally-in-conversation-with-leah-kaminsky/